From 1975 to 2015 here is the list of World Cup winning captains

World Cup winning captains MS Dhoni and Kapil Dev (Image: HT)

The ICC Cricket World Cup is one day international cricket. The ICC Cricket World Cup is organised by International Cricket Council and it comes every four years. The first Cricket World Cup was played in England in June 1975. The 12th edition of ICC Cricket World Cup will commence from May 30, 2019. This year the ICC Cricket World Cup is hosted by England and Wales. But before starting of 2019 Cricket World Cup let us look at the list of World Cup winning captains. The captains who lead their team and country win the prestigious ICC Cricket World Cup.

ICC World Cup winning captains till date:

Captain NameYearCountry
Clive Llyod1975West Indies
Clive Llyod 1979 West Indies
Kapil Dev1983India
Allan Border1987Australia
Imran Khan1992Pakistan
Arjuna Ranatunga1996Sri Lanka
Steve Waugh1999Australia
Ricky Ponting2003Australia
Ricky Ponting2007Australia
MS Dhoni2011India
Michael Clarke2015Australia


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here